Oroville Dam Evacuation: My Experience

Oroville Dam Evacuation: My Experience

As many of you have heard, there have been complications with the Oroville Dam. Due to these issues many people have been forced to evacuate their homes and cities. Oroville, Plumas Lake, Olivehurst, Marysville, and Yuba City I know for sure were under mandatory evacuation. As of now Yuba City is under evacuation warning, so there are some returning to town. My evacuation process went like this:
I started work at the movies around 4:30 P.M. and out of nowhere my coworker’s families started showing up to pick them up. Then our managers come out and say we need to evacuate the building. It took us a good twenty minutes to evacuate the buildings and turn things off. We were then sent home and it took me another twenty minutes to get home with all the traffic (normally it takes me about five minutes). When I finally got home Audrey told me to pack a bag and we got separated from my dad because he went to get my Mima.

We loaded my little Chevy Cruze with all of our belongings; including our pup Annie and my main man Hercules. Then we headed to Sacramento. It took us and hour just to get on the highway and another two hours to get to Sacramento (normally it only takes 45 minutes)! The traffic was crazy! It was bumper to bumper and there were cars driving on the shoulder because they were being impatient. All the gas stations were packed and some even used up all their gas! When we finally reached Sac, we were exhausted, but continued to watch the news for any updates.

The next day we visited with family and napped. The news reported that Yuba City was then under advisory evacuation so we decided to go home. The day after my dad came home! We waited for the news conference to begin and they announced that the evacuation has been lifted but there still is a warning just in case something else happened. Now businesses are open again and people are coming back!

I just wanted to share my experience with you guys.It was one of the most nerve wracking situations I’ve ever been in.  What was yours?

 

Ya’ll are amazing,

Cecilia Marlena

Leave a Reply

